Carl Gustav Jung & The Red Book: 2013 Symposium Pt I

Okay, this is a long watch – and worth clearing time for. A gathering of Jungian scholars, talking about Jung and the Red Book. Many of us working in the person-centred model find deep resonances between Jung’s work and person-centred. Many riches, and there are several speakers, so it’s easy enough to watch in instalments. It begins with some context/introduction, and then the speakers are:-

Sonu Shamdasani speaking about ‘Hell’ begins just over 16 minutes in.

James Hillman on ‘Jung & the profoundly personal’ begins about 1 hour and 9 minutes in.

Ann Ulanov begins about 1 hour and 44 minutes in, talking about reality, consciousness, the ‘unfathomable divine’ and the power of embracing shadow.

This is a link that will take you to transcripts and more information:-

http://www.loc.gov/today/cyberlc/feature_wdesc.php?rec=4909&loclr=ytb

Thanks to Brent Potter, Micah Ingle & the Society for Humanistic Psychology, Division 32 for putting us onto this.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/108667668615/permalink/10151948192428616/

There is also a Red Book facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/290816037003/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in human condition, Jung, psychiatry, spirituality, therapeutic relationship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Carl Gustav Jung & The Red Book: 2013 Symposium Pt I

  1. I can’t see this now, but I did note the url. Thank you. I have been doing some study of Jung and appreciate video.
    Blessings
    ~ Eric

    • Hello Eric,

      Thanks for your comment, and thanks for the tip – I’ve noticed that sometimes the You Tube connections shift and move. I will dive back in and see if I can edit the post with another (functioning) link. I’m interested in Jung too (lots of resonance with the person-centred approach), and there’s quite a lot out there. The Facebook ‘Red Book’ page comes up with some interesting stuff, as you probably know.

      Lindsey Talbott

  2. The video loads ok here and at youtube; probably plays from the Library of Congress page fine as well. I just didn’t have the time to see it yet.

  3. Pingback: The Red Book… Jung’s Awakening | The Hunt FOR Truth

    • Ah, I misunderstood your previous comment (reading in haste) to mean the link had failed or been removed – which happens every now and then. Thank you for your own link. So far, I have had time only for a skim of your post. It looks fascinating, and I will come back to it later when I have more time. Lindsey

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.