I Am Not Old – Samantha Reynolds

Culturally, we do not value aging, or our Elders. We think this is a disastrous and heart-breaking piece of short-sightedness, which generates huge loss for us all. It seems linked to a view of the human being as a production unit. As we are more, or less, useful in production terms, we are perceived (and often perceive ourselves) as more, or less, worthy of attention, respect, support – even life. From a person-centred and a personal perspective, the writer has a different perspective, seeing each human being as an unique and priceless repository of experience and wisdom, and holding the core belief that all life is sacred.

This is lovely. Here is the text – we have one or two readers who cannot see Facebook links, for some reason.

I Am Not Old

‘I am not old…she said
I am rare.
I am the standing ovation
At the end of the play.
I am the retrospective
Of my life as art
I am the hours
Connected like dots
Into good sense
I am the fullness
Of existing.
You think I am waiting to die…
But I am waiting to be found
I am a treasure.
I am a map.
And these wrinkles are
Imprints of my journey
Ask me anything.’

Samantha Reynolds

Thank you, Samantha and Sojourners Path on Facebook.

Palace Gate Counselling Service, Exeter

Counselling Exeter since 1994

This entry was posted in beauty, consciousness, core conditions, cultural questions, encounter, equality, ethics, interconnection & belonging, love, paradigm shift, perception, person centred, photographs & pictures, physical being, poetry, political, power and powerlessness, values & principles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

