Brian Thorne – Credo

‘I believe that I am of infinite worth and all others with me.

I believe that I need not be afraid of my inner world and must strive fearlessly to be in touch with it even if this is painful or confusing.

I believe that it is my task to remain open to experience both inner and outer.

I believe that the other deserves my understanding and not my judgement.

I believe that to understand the other’s world and to communicate that understanding is an essential part of being human.

I believe that contractual living reduces human beings to commodities and that unfettered materialism destroys personhood.

I believe that unconditional acceptance, both offered and received, dispels fear and opens up the path to authentic living.’

Counselling and Spiritual Accompaniment: Bridging Faith and Person-Centred Therapy – Brian Thorne

Thanks, Brian. And aye to that.

Palace Gate Counselling Service, Exeter

This entry was posted in actualizing tendency, Brian Thorne, consciousness, core conditions, empathy, empowerment, encounter, equality, ethics, growth, human condition, immanence, interconnection & belonging, internal locus of evaluation, love, organismic experiencing, perception, person centred, person centred theory, presence, spirituality, therapeutic growth, therapeutic relationship, values & principles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

