Thomas Merton on Brightness and Darkness

“Your brightness is my darkness.

I know nothing of You and, by myself,

I cannot even imagine how to go about knowing You.

If I imagine You, I am mistaken.

If I understand You, I am deluded.

If I am conscious and certain I know You, I am crazy.

The darkness is enough.”

Thomas Merton, prayer before midnight mass at Christmas, 1941

The writer had intended to post this on the 24th – and was too busy in the final preparations for a (wonderful) community Yule celebration. Which makes the time now….

Palace Gate Counselling Service, Exeter

This entry was posted in acceptance, consciousness, human condition, love, perception, presence, spirituality, Thomas Merton, trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thomas Merton on Brightness and Darkness

  1. I posted that on the 24th and didn’t get it from parabola…funny…it was a repost from last year. šŸ™‚

    • Aha, missed that! Been holding space for a community Yule celebration since 24th, so my usual Facebook and blog visits have largely fallen away….Now sat in front of the computer too tired to go to bed….My best friend and another friend on FB both shared Parabola, and it reminded me I had meant to make these words my post for the 24th…..I may well repost next year too….it is funny. The TM fan club (and I am). Lindsey xx

Leave a Reply

