Thanksgiving and Gratefulness

Here is a beautiful little film from David Steindl-Rast: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Zl9puhwiyw#t=25

I am softly with my own practice of gratefulness at the moment (one of the great gifts of the past year). The ebb and flow.

Moments when I look at a tree or someone’s face, and feel such a sharp, intense, immense sense of the extraordinary, the magical, the beauty present in each moment and each interaction. Other times when I feel sad or alone, and tell myself stories about what I want and do not have. Fear. My eyes closing to the magic around me. The movement between these places in my inward landscape.

And – often, and often in my work, alongside an infinitely precious human being on a unique journey, in my capacity as another infinitely precious human being on another unique journey – I feel the resonance of Martha Graham’s words:-

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all of time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and it will be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is nor how valuable nor how it compares with other expressions. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open. You do not even have to believe in yourself or your work. You have to keep yourself open and aware to the urges that motivate you. Keep the channel open. …”

‘There is only one of you in all of time’.

‘There is only one of you in all of time’.

What could be more special, more extraordinary, more rare and precious than that? So I increasingly do not understand ‘normal’ or ‘ordinary’ or ‘nothing/no-one special’. To me they sound more like ‘I can’t see yet/clearly’.

So I have these threads, and the thread of American Thanksgiving today, and then I saw today’s post from Monica Cassani on Beyond Meds.

Brother David Steindl-Rast was unknown to me before today. I like what he says and I like his face – he has that ‘lit up from inside’ look, that tells me he lives what he says and that I can trust him.

And I go back to the very first post on this blog ( https://palacegatecounsellingservice.wordpress.com/2013/10/30/paul-hawkens-speech-at-the-2006-bioneers-conference/ ) – Paul Hawken speaking of the many, many diverse grass roots movements coming into being, in all cultures and belief systems, which seek to bring enhancing, healing ways of being, seeing and relating to each other (and beyond) into manifestation in our world – so sorely needed. I am thinking that gratefulness.org and Brother David are amongst these.

And I feel hope. A swelling rise of gratitude and joy.

The main purpose of this blog is to build connections between those of us who want to be part of the movement Paul Hawken describes, so here are some links:-

https://www.facebook.com/Gratefulness.org

http://www.gratefulness.org/a/index.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Steindl-Rast

 

Lindsey Talbott, Therapist

Palace Gate Counselling Service

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

